CLINTON, N.J. — At the national chapter meeting of the National Fraternity of the Secular Franciscan Order of the United States of America (NAFRA), a new national executive council was elected for three-year terms..

Secular Franciscans comprise the third order founded by St. Francis of Assisi. The first order is comprised of the friars, the second order the Poor Clares and the third order of men and women who live “in the world.” More information on secular Franciscans in the US can be found on their website

NAFRA Board 2015

Front, from left: Mary Bittner, OFS, national vice minister; Jan Parker, OFS, national minister; and Mattie Ward, OFS, national secretary. Back, from left: Joan Geiger, OFS, national councilor; Awilda Guadalupe, OFS, national councilor; Jerry Rousseau, OFS, national Treasurer; Mary Stronach, OFS, international councilor; Mary Frances Charsky, national councilor; and Br. Bob Brady, OFM, president-in-turn of the Conference of National Spiritual Assistants.

Follow Jim

Jim McIntosh

Director, US Franciscans Communications at US Franciscans
A former missionary to Perú and Bolivia, I am now working half-time at a parish in New Jersey and half-time as webmaster for US Franciscans.
Follow Jim

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this news item with your friends!